2017 Graduation and Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

2017 Graduation & Awards Celebration Photo Slideshow

The department of Human Centered Design & Engineering (HCDE) held its 2017 Graduation & Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 9 in the Husky Union Building.

2017 represents HCDE's largest graduating class yet, with 66 students receiving their Bachelor of Science, 71 with their Master of Science, and 4 with doctoral degrees. The full list of graduates is below.

HCDE alumnus Jerrod Larson (PhD 2010, MS 2003), UX Manager at Qualtrics, delivered the 2017 graduation address featuring a choose-your-own adventure style ending. View the full text of Dr. Larson's speech here.

David Farkas on stageEmeritus Professor David K. Farkas receiving the 2017 Mikey Award

The HCDE faculty awarded the 2017 Myron L. White Award (aka the "Mikey") to Professor Emeritus David K. Farkas. Farkas was an active professor in the department for over 30 years, before he retired in 2013. The HCDE faculty unanimously voted to award Professor Farkas the 2017 Mikey Award, thanking him for his years of service to the Department and the many students he has mentored and supported. 

The department annually recognizes outstanding graduating students with Awards of Excellence. These awards honor students who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating excellence in one of three categories: Innovation, Leadership and Engagement, and Academic Excellence. Read about these awards and see the past recipients, here.

Kyle Musselwhite and Sol Choi on stage

Undergraduate Award of Excellence

Kyle Musselwhite
Sol Choi

Alexis Hiniker on stage

Graduate Award of Excellence

Alexis Hiniker

Aaron Joya on stage

Undergraduate Award for Innovation

Aaron Joya

Sahil Anand, John Luetke, Nikhil Venkatesh, Dorothy Wong on stage

Graduate Award for Innovation

Team SIM: Sahil Anand, John Luetke, Nikhil Venkatesh, Dorothy Wong

Sara Jennings on stage

Undergraduate Award for Leadership & Engagement

Sara Jennings

Joseph Bernstein and Taylor Scott on stage

Graduate Award for Leadership & Engagement

Joseph Bernstein
Taylor Scott

For the 2016-2017 year, HCDE awarded a special recognition for community service, awarded to the Alternative Spring Break team of Lydia Davison, Michael Fernandes, Leyla Ibrahim, Valerie Najera, Karin Vaughan, and Samantha Gil Vargas.

HCDE Alternative Spring Break team on stage

The 2017 HCDE Alternative Spring Break team receiving special recognition for community service

Please join HCDE in congratulating the Class of 2017!

All HCDE degrees awarded in the 2016–2017 academic year are below.

  • Alexis Anand
  • Angie Andriani
  • Joanna Bailet
  • Devin Leelan Bell
  • Torin Martin Blankensmith
  • Maria Buan †
  • Macauley Cameron
  • Angela Chen
  • Michael Chen
  • Felicia Chiang
  • Alison Chiu
  • Shin Young (Lucia) Choi
  • Sol Choi ∞
  • Lydia Davison
  • Tien Do
  • Dominic Dopico
  • Shelley Eang
  • Molly Fallen
  • Hua Fan
  • Michael Fernandes
  • Ethan Reid Fletcher
  • Peyton Elias Foucht
  • Luis A. Gonsalez
  • Kimberly Ha
  • Sara Jennings
  • Tsuki Kaneko-Hall
  • Alex Heilgeist
  • Owen Mingxiao Hu
  • Anh Hua
  • Leyla Ibrahim
  • Joy Jean
  • Aaron Joya
  • Nicholas Kaman
  • Dorothy Kong *
  • Monica Youvin Lee †
  • Kirk Samuel Lestelle
  • Yeqing Lou
  • Jay Luo
  • Zhuo Luo
  • Ben Luster
  • Calob Mejias
  • Kyle Musselwhite
  • Valerie Najera
  • Andrew Newton
  • Neha Nuguru
  • Alex C. Pease
  • Hannah Postings
  • Siddharth Rao
  • Keane Riley
  • Phillip Gregory Robison *
  • Kendall Lee
  • Mertens Sahl *
  • Prerna Sitomer
  • Khalil Somani
  • Stephanie Ann Stanek
  • Leo G Stewart
  • Amy Tang †
  • Nicole Tilly
  • Andy Truong
  • Tuyen Tu Truong
  • Paulina Tsai
  • Karin Vaughan
  • Madeline Wood
  • Justin Michael Woodum
  • Kexiang Xu ∞
  • Joshua Pei Yao
  • Anne Zheng

* Cum Laude awarded Winter 2017
Cum Laude projected Spring 2017
Magna Cum Laude projected Spring 2017


  • Rolner Alliance
  • Nicholas Clark Alvey
  • Sahil Anand
  • Meredith P. Anderson
  • Jon Anscher
  • Bradley Neal Arnesen
  • Clement A. Auyeung
  • Heather Bales
  • Valerie Kathleen Bays
  • Nicole Emelia Bernardi
  • Joe Bernstein
  • Demi Boe
  • Emily Bulajewski
  • Wilson Carletti
  • Kira J. Cassels
  • Daren Lee Chaisy
  • Paula Chuchro
  • Steven Derhammer
  • Ariel A. Duncan
  • Nichole Fernkes
  • Olivia Frederick
  • Brett Daniel Fuller
  • Annica Lila Garfield
  • Jennifer Giblin
  • Charles Paul Kamehameha Harris-White
  • Kacie J. Hsu
  • Laura E. Hunter
  • Carolyn Huynh
  • Anastacia Jaime
  • Spencer James
  • Setumadhava G. Kathawate
  • Joyce E. Kim
  • Thomas J. Koines
  • Ivan Sergei Koveshnikov
  • Khuyen Lam
  • Jasmine Lawrence
  • Dana Lee
  • Diane D. Lee
  • Julie Zhuying Li
  • Aidan T. Little
  • John A. Luetke
  • Gabriela Madrid Valero
  • Gideo Mari
  • Kenneth T. Milne
  • Samara Mohammed
  • Ryan Moore
  • Ricki Li Mudd
  • Angela Julia Nelson
  • Mike Northcutt
  • Alan T. Reese
  • Matt Reynolds
  • Paul F. C. Roberts
  • James S. Sanders
  • Vishwas Shetty
  • Veronika Sipeeva
  • Scott A. Sizemore
  • Julia Snyder
  • Meena Sujanani
  • Nicholas David Throm
  • Paul Townsend
  • Nikhil Venkatesh
  • Annie Wang
  • David Wang
  • Scott Scott Wang
  • Lauren Wheelwright
  • Dorothy Wong
  • Feiyang Xue
  • Loretta Yiu
  • Danning Zhang
  • Tingting Zhang
  • Ying Zheng
  • Yuan Zhuang

  • Zhiwei Guan
    • Dissertation: The Effect of 'Need to Belong' on Online Social Behaviors and Cognitive Interactions
  • Alexis Hiniker
    • Dissertation: Supporting Intentional Media Use in Families
  • Mania Orand
    • ​​Dissertation: Bridging Research & Practice: A Theoretical & Empirical Mapping of Design Space using Solo Travel Domain
  • Taylor Scott
    • ​Dissertation: A Framework of Distributed Affect in Text Based Communication