Give to HCDE

Give to HCDE

Human Centered Design & Engineering faculty and students are advancing the research and design of technologies by using innovative methods to study human activity and develop meaningful information and sociotechnical systems.

Join us at the forefront of the field and help us design the future.

HCDE's Fundraising Goals

Our top priorities are:

Human Centered Design & Engineering Fund for Excellence
Fostering excellence and vision for students, faculty, and curricular programs in HCDE.

Human Centered Design & Engineering Excellence through Diversity Fund
Enhancing diversity initiatives in HCDE with a focus on recruiting, mentoring, and partnership-building.

Michael and Sirina Berg Endowed Fund for Leadership in Human Centered Design & Engineering
Support undergraduate students in Human Centered Design & Engineering.

David Farkas Endowed Fund
Supporting undergraduate students with financial need in the Department of Human Centered Design & Engineering.

Your gift to the Department of Human Centered Design & Engineering through the University of Washington Foundation, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, is tax deductible. The Foundation's Federal EIN is 94-3079432.


HCDE's Giving Circles

HCDE thanks the following individuals and corporations for their financial support of departmental scholarships and student opportunities in the 2017 calendar year.


Individuals who contributed more than $2,000 in 2017
Sirina & Michael P. Berg (MS ‘09)
Devindra and Manisha Chainani
Jasen A. Peterman (MS ‘12)
Jonathan H. Mark &
Donna Marie Sakson (BS ‘82)
Joseph Tullio &
Dr. Carolyn Wei (PhD ‘07)


Individuals who contributed between $500 to $2,000 in 2017
Jerrold & Cristina Bailet
James Leslie Humphrey III (MS ‘11)
Prof. David W. McDonald
Dr. Constance W. Rice


Individuals who contributed up to $499 in 2017
Brandi N. Arnold (MS ‘09)
Joanna Elise Bailet (BS ‘17)
Dale P. Callison (MS ‘98)
Monica Carstens (MS ‘03)
Dr. Deborah M. Woo-Chinn &
Darryl G. Chinn (MS ‘99)
Caroline Ann Colon (MS ‘16)
Kenneth J. Cook
Ann Marie & Donald Eberhart
Jean B. & Prof. David K. Farkas
Kai Fujita
Eileen Shan-Lin Hsu (BS ‘82)
Prof. Julie A. Kientz
Marie Helwege Kotowski (MS ‘95)
Joy Tollman Lashley (MS ‘92)
Christine Loucks-Jaret (MS ‘99)
Prof. Sean A. Munson
Daniel Ahlstrom &
Roxane S. Neal (MS ‘05)
Robert & Carolyn Pendle (MS ‘92)
Aileen S. & Glenn J. Pruiksma
Kent D. Sullivan
Sharon T. & Prof. Michio Tsutsui
Robert A. Wlodarczyk (MS ‘12)
Kaiyuan Xu (MS ‘16)
Liyin Xue (MS ‘14)


Companies who supported the Corporate Affiliates Program and/or HCDE faculty research in 2017
Alaska Airlines
American Red Cross
Anthro -Tech, Inc.
The Boeing Company
Google Inc.
Intel Corporation
Microsoft Corporation
NAVER Design
nFocus Solutions
Tableau Software, Inc.
Teach for America
VPGame Inc.
West Monroe Partners
Workday, Inc.
Yahoo at Oath

Are you an employee of Microsoft or Boeing? Expand your gift to HCDE with your employee matching gift programs.