Julie Kientz Wins Faculty Innovator Award

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Human Centered Design & Engineering (HCDE) Associate Professor Julie Kientz has been awarded the 2014 Faculty Innovator: Research Award from the College of Engineering. The Innovator Awards are presented annually to engineering faculty who exemplify excellence in scholarship and research. 

Left to right: Dawn Lehman, Associate Dean of Engineering; Michael B. Bragg, Dean of Engineering; Julie Kientz, Assistant Professor of Human Centered Design & Engineering

Kientz’s research focuses on designing, developing, and evaluating future computing applications in the domains of health and education. She has worked on researching mobile, sensor, and collaborative applications for people with sleep disorders, parents of young children, individuals with autism, and the visually impaired. 

In 2013, Kientz was named one of the world’s top 35 Innovators under 35 by the MIT Technology Review. Kientz collaborates with faculty and students across the University in Computer Science, Nursing, Sleep Medicine, Rehabilitation Medicine, and Education. She has published 27 peer-reviewed, archival full papers, and her research was recognized by National Science Foundation with a Career Award in 2010.

HCDE Department Chair Jan Spyridakis noted Kientz’s commitment to excellence, saying:

Julie is an interdisciplinary researcher with a research agenda focused on improving the lives of individuals. This award recognizes Julie's exemplary scholarship in persuasive and ubiquitous computing in the health arena, and her extraordinary dedication to and positive impact in HCDE and the College of Engineering both in terms of teaching and service.

The Community of Innovators Award ceremony will take place on May 15, 2014 in the Microsoft Atrium of the Paul G. Allen Center for Computer Science & Engineering. 

Kientz is the second faculty member in HCDE to receive a College of Engineering Community of Innovators Awards; in 2013 Charlotte Lee received the Faculty Innovator: Junior Award.