College of Engineering 2012 Scholar Donor Recognition Luncheon

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

The College of Engineering hosted the 2012 Scholar-Donor Recognition Luncheon today to celebrate the generosity of donors who support students through scholarships, fellowships, and endowments.

Two students from the Department of Human Centered Design & Engineering (HCDE) were present at the event: Megan Torkildson, the Donna M. Sakson Excellence through Diversity Scholar; and Elise Groves, a Boeing Scholar and a National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME) Scholar. Attending on behalf of HCDE were Professor and Chair Jan Spyridakis and Undergraduate Advisor Stephanie White.

Torkildson joined College of Engineering Dean Matt O’Donnell and three other student scholars on a panel during the lunch to discuss the benefits of receiving a scholarship and how it has enabled her to pursue her interests in improving usability and creating inclusive design. Torkildson is also a PEER (Promoting Equity in Engineering Relationships) leader and active in promoting diversity across campus.

Unable to attend were HCDE Boeing Scholars Anna DelaMerced and Natasha Noltimier-Strauss, who are currently studying abroad at the University of Twente; College of Engineering HCDE Fellows Scholar Chris Rovillos; Emerging Leaders in Engineering Scholar Martin Reyes; and NACME Scholar Yuriana Garcia.