2012 HCDE Innovator Awards Announced

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

The Department of Human Centered Design & Engineering (HCDE) is pleased to announce the 2012 HCDE Innovator Awards. The HCDE Innovator Awards acknowledge the extraordinary efforts of the department's faculty and staff. The faculty and staff who receive these awards are then nominated for the College of Engineering's Community of Innovators Awards.

HCDE Professors Jennifer Turns, Julie Kientz, and Mark Haselkorn received Faculty Innovator Awards, and HCDE Staff DJ Miller and Lisa Yamasaki received Staff Innovator Awards.

HCDE Professor Jennifer Turns was named the 2012 HCDE Faculty Innovator of Teaching & Learning.HCDE honored Professor Jennifer Turns' excellence in teaching and learning by naming her the HCDE 2012 Faculty Innovator of Teaching and Learning in winter 2012. Using the same criteria as that used by the College of Engineering, Turns was awarded based on her outstanding contributions to engineering education through innovative and lasting contributions to engineering education and high-level commitment to students both in and outside of the classroom.

Professor Julie Kientz was named the 2012 HCDE Junior Faculty Innovator.HCDE honored Professor Julie Kientz's innovations by naming her the HCDE 2012 Junior Faculty Innovator in winter 2012. Kientz received the award for her excellence in research through her exemplary scholarship, extraordinary contributions and dedication, innovative research, contributing to the expansion of knowledge and improvement of quality of life, and making an impact to improve education.

Professor Mark Haselkorn was named the 2012 HCDE Faculty Innovator of Research.HCDE also honored Professor Mark Haselkorn's innovative research by naming him the HCDE 2012 Faculty Innovator of Research in winter 2012. Haselkorn exemplified excellence in his scholarship and research through extraordinary contributions and dedication to research, support of diverse students in research, innovative approaches in research. His research has had a wide impact throughout the world.

HCDE Administrator DJ Miller was named the 2012 HCDE Professional Staff Innovator. HCDE Office Manager Lisa Yamasaki was named the 2012 HCDE Classified Staff Innovator.

HCDE staff DJ Miller and Lisa Yamasaki were awarded the 2012 Staff Innovator Awards for Professional and Classified Staff, respectively. Miller and Yamasaki received the award based on their significant impact on HCDE through their customer service, resourcefulness, innovation, creativity, and promoting positive morale.

Please join HCDE in congratulating our faculty and staff for their achievements!